Mehr Hingabe

When I was fifteen, back when there was practically no internet (yes, there was such a time…) I joined a pen pal club and wrote hundreds of letters to people all around the world.  I knew then that someday I would live in another country and learn to speak another language.  It was so clear and so obvious that I never doubted it though I didn’t necessarily think I would move away forever.  But I’ve been in Berlin for 12 years now.  My children were born here.  My husband is German.  I don’t think I’ll ever go back.  I told someone recently about this decision I made at 15 and they asked me why.  But I didn’t really have an answer.  I love my family and think Northern California is one of the most amazing places on earth.  Still, I was meant to leave and so I did.

Anyone who has mastered another language will tell you there are sometimes words that best describe something you would need sentences or even paragraphs to describe in another languages.  One of these words is the German word Hingabe.  In English Hingabe can be translated as devotion, abandon, surrender, indulgence, commitment, addiction…..One word for all that vastness.  Somehow I feel the mask L’Inconnue de la Seine is calling for mehr (more) Hingabe  in all its possible translations.  I’ve photographed the mask so many times and lord knows I’m not the only person she has inspired.  I’m planning on using words in some of the work in my shop, though I’m not sure yet how.  But please stayed tuned.

Leave a comment

Filed under Behind the Scenes at ABP

Leave a Reply

